Macaroni and “Cheese”

This evening I thought I’d stretch my cooking muscles and try out a recipe from a vegan cookbook I picked up a couple of weeks ago.  I really should know better than to trust an artificial cheese ingredient list that includes flour, peanut butter, olive oil, nutritional yeast flakes, and pimientos. 

It wasn’t awful, but I know I’ll never come home from work and think, “Damn, I could sure go for some macaroni and peanut butter pimiento yeast sauce right now!”  I’ll never be craving that taste.  The taste, smell, and color of the stuff when mixed with elbow macaroni reminded me of my younger days when it was just myself and mom.  Money was tight so we had a lot of convenient-for-the-busy-mom meals.  Remember Hamburger Helper Cheeseburger Macaroni?  I hated it because it didn’t taste anything like macaroni and cheese with hamburger pieces.  It tasted fake and, frankly, no damn good.

That’s what was for dinner.

One Response

  1. Mmm mmm mmm…”peanut butter pimiento yeast sauce!” I seriously cannot think of a worse combo of ingredients to create ‘cheese’ from…

Leave a Reply

