• Email Me!

    jeniszen@live.com
  • Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I Think I Can

My grandfather is dying.  It’s by choice, so I guess we can be grateful for that.  He decided to stop dialysis four weeks ago.  He has one kidney that is functioning at 5%.  And did you read that right?  He’s lived for four weeks without dialysis. 

The Little Kidney That Could.

But he’s getting very tired.  I’m not sure if I’m more heartbroken to know that he won’t be around anymore or if I’m crying because my grandmother won’t know what to do with herself once he goes.  Not to mention my own mother.  She has spent every minute by his bedside, moved into their house, showered and dressed him, prepared meals, fed him, and put him to bed again at the end of the day.  She has done this without being asked.  She has done this without regard for herself and her own needs.  She has done this for four weeks.

I suppose I should start working on a eulogy.

Leave a Reply

