• Email Me!

    jeniszen@live.com
  • Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

N.H.W.

My sweet grandfather passed at 335 this morning.  He was comatose most of yesterday but managed to give me this piece of advice on Saturday night as I helped him get more comfortable in his bed.

The good looking ones will always leave you for a fresher piece of ass.

Touching.  Marry ugly.  Someone write that down.

Obviously my darling Gramps was a bit out of his head.  Because after that nugget of wisdom he got a little upset with me that I wouldn’t let him go tend to his chickens. 

He came into my life when I was ten years old and my mother started dating his son.  I instantly fell in love with that guy because he treated me like I’d always been his granddaughter.  He always wore pinstriped blue overalls and a white t-shirt while he was out working on the farm.  The outfit was complete with an old trucker hat bearing the label of a particular brand of cattle feed. 

Before he became bed bound he gave me an awesome old man sweater of his that he knew I had always admired.  I’m a little too big for it now, but you can bet your butt that I’ll be posting a photo of me wearing that Cosbyesque sweater come Christmas time.

There are a million more memories and flashes of humor that I have regarding this man.  I couldn’t possibly record them all.  I have to go buy a black dress that I’ll most likely never wear again.  I have to go hold my mother and father and let them cry.

I have to find a way to remedy my puffy eyes and I have to go be strong.

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

