• Email Me!

    jeniszen@live.com
  • Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Unstoppable

Oh, Internets!  I’m still on a pretty big high from my bike ride yesterday.  Now, granted, I wasn’t breaking any land speed records but it felt SO GOOD to get out there and play.  My mom and I hit the trail and just kept going until we reached the end of it.  We had lunch at a little cafe and then pedaled ourselves back to the car.  We were both surprised that it was 40 miles, round trip!  Although, we were feeling it pretty intensely by the last two miles.  At one point my left quadricep cramped so badly that I thought I had screwed myself out of any chance of having a decent workout for weeks.  I imagined icing it and trying to heal, all the while chastising myself for pushing too hard. 

But then, voila!  The cramp dissolved and I felt stronger than ever.  I guess I had never actually worked so hard to warrant a simple muscle cramp before!  Three hours of pedaling will do that though!  Awesome.  Here’s a photo of me and my momma before we set off:

We are grossly unprepared.

We are grossly unprepared.

This side of two years ago there is no way my mother would have been able to undertake such exercise.  She has lost a total of 175 pounds and I can’t even tell you how proud I am of her.  She has struggled with health her entire life.  If obesity and cancer can’t get her down, nothing will! 

This morning I reached a sort of goal.  On my Goals page, I say that I want to do 10,000 strides on the elliptical machine in one hour.  Well, this morning I did just over 5,000 in a half hour!  It was unplanned and not on my to-do list of gym activities this morning.  Believe me, after yesterday, I was thrilled to be able to put in a measly thirty minutes on the treadmill and call it a day.  But when I looked down at the numbers on the display screen (is anyone else OBSESSED with these numbers) and saw that I had already gone 4,500 strides and still had four minutes left…I kicked it into high gear and edged the number past 5,000 before the workout was complete.  When I do the elliptical machine I set it on the Interval Training mode with 2 minutes of resistance level 8 followed by 2 minutes of resistance level 1.

Could I actually reach 10,000 in an hour?  Not today.  By the end of my workout I was pretty beat.  However, exercise must beget exercise because I hopped on the treadmill and did running/walking intervals for 20 minutes.

NOW I’m exhausted.  I’ll refuel with this:

Mmmm....Green Monster!

Mmmm....Green Monster!

And then it’s laundry day!  My life, it is a glamorous one.

Have a great day, ladies!  Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

