Jumble

Last week I went to the movie Food, Inc. with Dawn.  We had a schedule for our day in the big city that included the matinee, IKEA, Trader Joe’s, and Whole Foods.  There is an amazing little food co-op in our town and the farmer’s market happens twice a week and boasts an impressive spread of produce, but still, we wanted to see what all the Whole Foods fuss was about.

To sum up, I want to move there.  We found this area of Minneapolis that had Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, Noodles and Company, Caribou Coffee, Starbucks and a million other cute shops all within a one mile radius.  It was the slice of heaven in an otherwise stressful-traffic-wrong-turning-all-the-time-which-exit-again sort of day.

Anyway, where was I?  Right.  I wanted to talk a bit about Michael Pollan.  If you haven’t read his books might I take a minute to DEMAND that you stop what you’re doing and crack one open.  I recommend In Defense Of Food first.  Just because that’s what I read first and it made me buy a dining table.

Will not be used as paper pile receptacle.

Will not be used as paper pile receptacle.

We have become so disconnected from our food.  There is very little preparation that goes into our meals unless you count opening up a box and boiling some water.  Programming the microwave, maybe.  The healthy eaters among us don’t even have to chop our vegetables.  Eating has never been more convenient.  And the food?  Man, the food is EVERYWHERE.  Most of it derived from chemicals.

Vending machines, gas stations, bank lobbies, drive up windows.  You can get a McDonald’s meal while in the waiting room of a hospital.  If you go hungry from point A to point B, it’s pretty much your own fault.  But this food available in snack machines isn’t quality eats.  Junk food leads to hunger.  Did you know that?

I’m jumbling the words and the thoughts I have regarding all this new information I’ve gleaned in the last couple months are tumbling around my head and getting lost in translation when I try to write them out.  I should really organize my thoughts before I jump on this blog and start spouting, huh?  Hmm…maybe that is the difference between a “successful” blogger and an oaf with an online diary. 

Anyway.  Read the book.  Buy a table if you don’t already have one and then spend some more time in the kitchen making your food from whole ingredients.  That’s my plan.  The end.

I can’t believe you keep coming back to read stuff like this, but thank you thank you thank you.

Be well.

One Response

  1. My cousin read this book and loved it. I’ve heard good things but I still have several books in queue and well… I just probably won’t 🙂

    I have been trying to eat more real food in the last year or so though. Actually buying ingredients, preparing the, and mixing them together. Crazy idea!

Leave a Reply

