• Email Me!

    jeniszen@live.com
  • Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Try Not To Fall Asleep

One night every single person in my city decided to stay in good health and so I found myself surfing the web while at the hospital.  I was feeling particularly out of love with my body and Googled “weight loss blog”.  And I found the funny and optimistic Mrs. B.  What got me first was the title of her blog, Breaking Up With Burgers.  Honestly?  I thought it was a vegan thing and got super excited.  She hooked me with the title and has managed to keep me because she writes often, spells correctly, and is pretty damn funny.  She is one of my best iFriends. (Trademarked by me because I said so.)  She has tagged me for a particularly involved meme. 

Asking me to name my favorite anything is not something for the faint of heart.  I hem and haw and wax and wane and ponder for a full hour before I finally get frustrated and mutter, “I don’t know…green?”  I fully believe that anyone who asks a person what their favorite song is is a person who doesn’t understand music AT ALL.  One favorite song?  Impossible.

Luckily, the meme I’ve been tagged for allows for five answers for each of the five categories:  Works of Art, Musicians, Authors, Historical Figures, and Movies.  Here we go!

Works Of Art

The Scream

The Scream

Starry Night

Starry Night

And…um…well…I’m not really a very visual art kind of girl.  Oh, wait!  I LOVE this one!

Ha!

Ha!

Next category, please. 

Musicians

 

 

 

 

 

Ani Difranco

Ani Difranco

 

 

 

One Of The Best Albums Ever

One Of The Best Albums Ever

Jack Johnson

Jack Johnson

Melissa Ferrick

Melissa Ferrick

Rob Thomas

Rob Thomas

Authors

Anneli Rufus

Anneli Rufus

Eric Schlosser

Eric Schlosser

Heather Armstrong  aka Dooce

Heather Armstrong aka Dooce

Elizabeth Wurtzel.  She changed my life.

Elizabeth Wurtzel. She changed my life.

Michael Pollan

Michael Pollan

Historical Figures

Amelia Earhart

Amelia Earhart

Elizabeth Blackwell.  First Female Doctor, Bitches!

Elizabeth Blackwell. First Female Doctor, Bitches!

Ellen Degeneres

Ellen Degeneres

Obama

Obama

Rosa Parks

Rosa Parks

Movies

Simply amazing effects and a startling glimpse into mental illness.

Simply amazing effects and a startling glimpse into mental illness.

This movie moved my soul.  For serious.

This movie moved my soul. For serious.

I still often listen to this soundtrack.  I still often wish I was as cool as them.

I still often listen to this soundtrack. I still often wish I was as cool as them.

Go ahead and laugh, but I absolutely believe in fate.

Go ahead and laugh, but I absolutely believe in fate.

Chronic underdog.  What's not to love?  These movies make me feel like I can rise above anything with hard work and determination.

Chronic underdog. What's not to love? These movies make me feel like I can rise above anything with hard work and determination.

Wow.  That was hard.  The photos are in no particular order and all of my choices are subject to change according to my mood.  For instance, I stopped writing this post about halfway through and now that I’m back I can’t BELIEVE I didn’t mention Liz Phair.  Not the “Why Can’t I” Liz Phair, but the the woman she was BEFORE she sold out.  The Exile In Guyville and Whitechocolatespaceegg Liz Phair.  And I considered just taking a photo of my movie shelves and posting all of them in lieu of picking five.  There are so many flicks for a myriad of reasons.  And I could write paragraphs about why I love each and every one.

All in all, this was fun.  Thanks for reading!

3 Responses

  1. DUDE! Wait, what?

    I almost shot coffee out my nose. Thanks for the laugh. I’m going to copy that pic and have it as my new wallpaper and post it to my FB page.

    Thanks for introducing me to the Fabulous Mrs. B! I love this new community of “iFriends”.

    -jafg

    • Isn’t that the best wallpaper? And Mrs. B is a go-getter! She makes me feel inadequate on almost a daily basis. 🙂 You’re welcome. I love her.

      Welcome, jafg!

  2. I love Heather. She is hilarious and always makes me laugh, or at least smile.

Leave a Reply

