• Email Me!

    jeniszen@live.com
  • Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

But Who’s Counting?

I wanted to do something visual as a countdown until I graduate.  Folks, I have many many days until I get to walk across that stage.  So I needed something light and colorful and fun.  I wanted a gesture at the end of the day that would ease my mind as I went to bed.  I wanted to be able to take a deep breath at the end of anticipated frustrating and tiring school days and remind myself to just keep moving onward and upward.

A construction paper chain was pretty much at the top of the list.  I thought about how satisfying it would be to rip the date to shreds at the end of a bad day.  I thought how nice it would be to see the chain get progressively smaller even if I was having a great time in school and life.  A visual representation that I’m working toward a significant goal.

But, you see, I have this Henry problem.

And a paper chain would be downright cruel because OHMYGODINEEDTOGETIT!  And he’d drive me insane while he tried to get it.  And he’d make me angry once he DID get it.  Even if it was up way high to the sky, that boy would find a way to leap up and tear all the days to shreds.

Finally, Dawn and I decided to get a jar.  And some candy.  We painstakingly counted every single piece, allowing ourselves to eat two pieces at the end of every day.

Viola!

If you can guess how many candies are in the jar I’ll send you a surprise!

2 Responses

  1. Love this post/entry thingy whatchamacallit. Made me laugh and the pictures are so cute!

  2. That is such a great idea! I’m totally stealing it for my next tri!

Leave a Reply

